Friday, September 11, 2009

Abigail Adams Awards - Sept. 30

22nd Annual Tribute to Abigail Adams Awards

September 30, 2009
Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel, Boston

6:00pm – 7:00pm Reception
7:00pm – 8:00pm Dinner and Awards Ceremony

This year, we will be honoring these exceptional women:

- Attorney General Martha Coakley
- Senator Joan Menard (Assistant Majority Leader )
- Lt. Governor Kerry Healey
- Marie A. Turley (Executive Director, Boston Women’s Commission )
- Jane M. Swift Commitment to Public Service Award presented to
Michelle Keating (President & CEO, Alder Foods)

...and other Distinguished Honorees!

Please click on the following links for additional information:

Check out our online auction

The Massachusetts Women’s Political Caucus introduced the Tribute to Abigail Adams in 1988 to recognize six Massachusetts women leaders. Award recipients are women who have demonstrated through their work and/or their community activism an outstanding commitment to the realization of equal political, economic, and social rights for women. The proceeds benefit the MWPC Education Fund a 501c(3) non-profit organization. All donations are tax deductible.

As part of the Abigail Adams event the Massachusetts Women’s Political Caucus has also established two additional awards. The MWPC created the Dolores L. Mitchell Lifetime Achievement Award to honor her for being one of the MWPC's founders and current Board Members. This Award was presented to Teresa Heinz Kerry in 2003. In 2002 the MWPC honored Governor Jane M. Swift with the creation of a new award in her honor, the Jane M. Swift Commitment to Public Service Award.

Born in Weymouth, MA in 1744, Abigail Adams was one of the earliest women’s advocates with strong beliefs in equal political, economic, and social rights for women. Abigail was the wife of our nation’s second President, John Adams, and the mother of six children.