Thursday, October 1, 2009

22nd Annual Abigail Adams Awards a Huge Success

Last night, the Mass. Women's Political Caucus hosted its 22nd Annual Tribute to Abigail Adams awards ceremony and dinner at the Fairmont Copley Hotel in Boston.

The evening's distinguished honorees included Attorney General Martha Coakley, Senator Joan Menard, Lt. Gov. Kerry Healey, Dolores Mitchell, Susan Windham-Bannister, Marie A. Turley and Michelle Keating (who received the Abigail Adams Jane M. Swift Public Service Award).

Welcome messages and acknowledgements were provided by Bruce Bullen, CEO of Harvard Pilgrim Health Care (which was Presenting Sponsor of the event), and Lora Pellegrini, MWPC Board President. Chris Matthews, host of MSNBC's Hardball, was Master of Ceremonies. Sheila Capone-Wulsin, MWPC Executive Director, presented closing remarks and also recognized members of the MWPC Board and Priti Rao, MWPC Associate Director, for their efforts. Thanks also were given to James Roosevelt, Jr. and Daniel B. Winslow, Esq. for serving as co-chairs of the Host Committee.

Governor Deval Patrick, Senate President Therese Murray, House Speaker Robert DeLeo, Boston Mayor Thomas Menino, and many other elected officials, corporate sponsors, award presenters and distinguished guests also were in attendance.

MWPC extends its congratulations to all of the honorees, and also its special thanks to the hundreds of people in attendance last night, and to everyone else who helped to make the evening a huge success!

Please check back here and on our Web site,, as we post photos of the event soon.